About FIFA Soccer World Cup

FIFA World Cup is a men's soccer tournament that takes place every four years. It is the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match of the 2018 tournament. The tournament is organized by FIFA, the international governing body of football, and is contested by the senior men's national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The current format of the tournament involves 32 teams competing in a group stage, followed by a knockout stage of 16 teams. The tournament has been won by 8 different teams, with Brazil winning the most times with 5 victories.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be held in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. This will be the first time a World Cup is jointly hosted by three nations. The tournament is scheduled to take place from June 16 to July 16, 2026.

The United States will host 60 matches, including all matches from the quarter-finals onwards. Canada and Mexico will each host 10 matches. All told, the three host countries will stage a total of 80 matches across the tournament.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will feature an expanded field of 48 teams, which is an increase from the 32-team format used in previous editions. This means more countries will have the chance to participate and compete for the coveted title.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup is expected to be the most watched sporting event in history, with an estimated global audience of over four billion people.